It’s been a long journey

Standard
It’s been a long journey

Charlathennow-WEB

I never really imagined I could be a person posting a before and after photo. In all honesty this isn’t an after photo, it’s just a now photo.

I have more work to do and more goals to reach.

The first photo was taken about 2.5 years ago. I’ve learned a lot over this time and gained more knowledge than weight lost.

I started my journey on a raw vegan diet. I am no longer raw vegan, but still eat a lot of raw vegan dishes. I’ve learned I am sensitive to most grains and allergic to wheat.

I eat whole foods, try to buy my meat from a farmer and love fermenting all sorts of things.

I have spent the past two years working with my naturopthic doctor Dr. Kyle Morrison and CrossFit coach Dave Warbeck both with Back to Back Chiropractic Clinic. I owe a lot to these two men who have really helped me.

I love powerlifting, hiking and surprising enough to me, I’ve found a love of running.

If you have any questions I’d love to answer them.

About Charla

I am a journalist, photographer and mother to a pretty awesome four-year-old. I work for a newspaper during the day and my kid at night. I have been interested in raw food for more than two years. Sometimes I am 100 per cent raw and others I am not. Lately I've been between about 90 per cent. I have lost more than 100 pounds and would love to share the information I have learned along the way.

5 responses »

  1. Wow, Charla, what an amazing journey. There’s that whole rappelling down buildings thing, too! I admire your courage and sense of adventure. Any time you want to talk about running, let me know. I’m slow, but I love running almost as much as I love writing.

  2. WOW your living your change and the courage you have being a single mother is truly the amazing part to me !. The shear determination to make life work for you and your child, the hardships I’m sure you’ve secretly endured and risen above all along the way of regaining your health, literally taking your life back…again TRULY AMAZING “I Show You Respect” Charla. It truly would be my honor and privalge to stand in your presence some day. “Dave The Raw Food Trucker”

Leave a Reply

